Meet Jerry Stewart

Why He’s Running

For the past 7 years on the Beaufort County Council, I have actively supported programs and actions to promote responsible development and environmental preservation here in the lowcountry.  Our future is directly impacted by the actions of Beaufort County Council. I want to continue working for you on County Council. My only job will be to represent the citizines of this district.

I have a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from the University of Idaho, with post-doctoral studies at Washington University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; have directed scientific programs at both public and private research facilities as well as co-founded and served for 18 years as the Chief Executive of a technology-oriented, international publicly-traded corporation; and have served as a principal in Cole Hill Associates, providing technical and financial management assistance to businesses and working with state and local governments to promote business, technology development and growth. Most recently, I have consulted with New Hampshire’s Office of Energy and Planning on the use of alternative energy sources for economic development.

I have served as a Board Member for both public and private businesses; and as a former Assistant Professor of Chemistry at West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV; Chief of Supporting Research at the U.S. Dept. of Energy’s Morgantown Energy Technology Center; as well as Chairman and CEO of Industrial Technologies, Inc, Milford, CT. I have also served on the Bluffton Economic Development Committee, Beaufort County Solid Waste and Recycling Board, Hilton Head Island/Bluffton’s Government Affairs Committee, Sun City’s Government and Business Affairs Committee, as well as a member of the Greater Island Committee. I am currently serving a second term as Councilman for District 10 representing the Sun City/Okatie region.

Norma Gold Stewart, spouse; 5 children – all grown with 15 grandchildren

    Recent Accomplishments as Incumbent Councilman
    • Revised Animal Control Ordinance
    • Established Burning Ordinance for Unincorporated Beaufort County
    • Established Ban on Texting while Driving in Unincorporated Beaufort County
    • Revised Fire District Charters
    • Reviewed Emergency Services resulting in improved response times, additional ambulances/crews, 911 improvements, software/hardware upgrades and more
    • Opposed Local Option Sales Tax
    • Supported revision to Rural & Critical Lands Ordinance taking less land off tax rolls
    • Revised Business License Ordinance
    • Supported Ordinance Establishing a General Reserve Fund and Debt Reserve Fund Policy
    • Supported purchasing of R&C Lands to preserve the Okatie, May and New Rivers
      • Current Committee Assignments

    • Governmental Committee (Intergovernmental/Public Safety/ Economic Development) – Chairman
    • Natural Resources Committee – Past Vice-Chair
    • Finance Committee – Member
    • Public Facilities Committee – Member
    • Executive Committee – Member
    • Low Country Council of Government – Board Member
    • LowCountry Economic Alliance – Board Member
    • Technical College of the Lowcountry Commission – Ex-officio Council Representative
    • South Carolina Association of Counties Legislative Steering Committee – Member
      • Education

    • BS Degree – Wilmington College, Wilmington, Ohio
    • MS Degree – South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, Rapid City, SD
    • Ph.D. – Physical Chemistry, University of Idaho, Moscow, ID
    • Postdoctoral Associate –  Washington University, St. Louis MO
    • Postdoctoral Associate –  Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA
      • Key Endorsements

    • Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors
    • Hilton Head Area Home Builders Association
    • Congressman Mark Sanford
    • Senator Tom Davis
    • Representative Bill Herbkersman
    • Representative Weston Newton
    • Hilton Head Area Home Builders Association
    • Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors
    • McNair Law Firm
    • Vaux & Marscher Law Firm,
    • James Wedgeworth
    • David Tiggis
    • Roberts Vaux
    • Jim Scheider
    • among many others